August 09 Wrap-up

Oh August, I had such high hopes for you, and really you started off quite well, and then it’s like a hit a brick wall built of books. I was out of town for a little over a week visiting my parents, which was wonderful, and came back refreshed – making sure I had a few posts a week, kept up with the feed reader, made comments on fellow blog sites, but my actual book reading has slid.

So here’s to a book and blog post filled September. I think my mind will be in its own back to school mode. I will also try and become more focused on setting reading goals each week, and meeting them, and also catching up on the reviews I would like to post (so if nothing else I can put the pile of books sitting near my desk as a constant reminder, back in their appointed shelf spots).

This is all not to say that August wasn’t a good month for Bailey’s and Books. I am happy to say this blog received its first and second award this month. And, it also reached more than 200 comments. So thanks everyone for a great month – I appreciate the comments, and awards. You are the best!

Happy September Reading!!

Books Read
1. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris
2. Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler
3. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
4. Baking Cakes in Kigali by Gaile Parkin
5. Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris

Reviews Posted
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Baking Cakes in Kigali by Gaile Parkin
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
Dead Until Dawn and Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris
Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan

Challenge Status
August Reading Challenge hosted by Pizza’s Book Discussion
Challenge Time: Complete
Books Completed: 5

Sookie Stackhouse Challenge hosted by Beth Fish Reads
Challenge Time: July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010
Books Completed: 2 (of 9)

Everything Austen hosted by Stephanie’s Written Word
Challenge Time: July 1, 2009 – January 1, 2010
Books Completed: 2 (of 6)

Harry Potter Reading Challenge hosted by Galleysmith
Challenge Time: August 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010
Books Completed: 1 (of 8)

Signed up for one new challenge
R.I.P. IV Challenge (which stands for Readers Imbibing Peril) hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings
Challenge Time: September 1 – October 31, 2009
Books to Complete: 4

Awards in August
friends award
Thanks to Kim over at The Queen Bees Book Blog for the Let’s Be Friends Award.
comments award
Thanks to Deb at Bookmagic for the Super Comments Award.

3 Responses

  1. Don’t worry about it – blogging is all for fun! Congratulations on your awards!

  2. Ha, 5 books a month is my average. How do all of you book bloggers have time to read 4839243 books a month?? I need that much time!

    Congrats on the awards!

    Speaking of back to school mode, I just announced a new challenge, and it’s called the Back to School Reading Challenge! You should join!

  3. I think you did great! August was slower than the rest of summer for me too, but that’s okay !

    I hope September will go as planned for you, as long as you enjoy it! 😀

Leave a comment