Challenges – The August Reading Challenge & Back to School Challenge

August Reading ChallengeParticipating in challenges is a great way to set goals, which is why I am participating in a few, one of which concluded on Monday – the August Reading Challenge hosted by Pizza’s Book Discussion. This challenge was perfect for all bloggers because rather than a specific genre, the month long reading challenge could be any book, any genre.

I am not a fast reader like so many of the other bloggers out there, whom I am in awe of, so I knew I wouldn’t have a huge number, but I still had fun listing out my books for this challenge (many of which crossed over with other challenges).

At the end of the day (or month in this case), I completed five books.

Here is my list of the books I completed for the Challenge:
1. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris
2. Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler
3. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
4. Baking Cakes in Kigali by Gaile Parkin
5. Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris

Congrats to all in the challenge!

Now I am challenging myself, finish at least two books a week through the end of the year. I was hoping to complete 75 books this year, I am woefully off track, but with September and the back to school mindset comes an opportunity to rededicate to this goal.

And speaking of back to school …

I had mentioned last month that I was thinking of hosting my own challenge based around Back to School, but last week I decided against it, and am holding off, maybe until the start of the new year. So I was quite happy when I got a comment yesterday from Kari at Five Borough Book Review on the Back to School Challenge there. It’s perfect! You have four months to read four reading list books, you know those books that it seems everyone but you read in high school even if you were in AP English somehow you missed this one (or two or five), or maybe you just want to re-read one, give it another chance, or fall in love all over again. So I am in – my list for this is quite long so I will be giving it a little more time and have my first post up soon.
BtSbutton2

Hope you decide to join. I am anxious to see what books others will pick.
Happy Reading!

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for participating! I’m having trouble creating my own list, as well!

  2. Have fun and good luck with the challenges!

  3. I’m glad I am not the only one who didn’t read 15 books last month 🙂 I love this challenge — I always look to classics in the fall. Don’t know if I can commit to this one TOO. Sometimes challenges are good and then sometimes they make it more difficult because there so many books you want to read.

  4. It sounds like you’ve been reading some fun books! I love Harry Potter, and I am tempted to try the Sookie Stackhouse series as well. The “Jane Austen” title definitely piqued my interest, too.

Leave a Reply

