Review: The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

Time Traveler's WifeSo, there’s this time traveler and he hops all about time, even back to pay visits to his wife throughout her childhood and teen years.

OK, this might be the most basic distillation of the story. In all honesty this book offers so much more but given that the narrative moves all over and around the story of Henry DeTamble and Clare Abshire I fear that I might reveal too much of their story since now that I have finished it, I have the linear timeline of the story in my mind.

There are many things that I enjoyed about this book – one being how the characters were developed. I found both Henry and Clare so believable. I was immediately struck by how “normal” Henry was (aside from the time traveling, which he struggled with the entire time). Throughout his story, he did things that I think we all wonder if we would do if given an extraordinary talent, you know, take advantage of our “gift” — like sharing future lottery numbers or making subtile suggestions for the future.

I confess that for what has been quite awhile I saw this book on store shelves and was never particularly moved to pick it up to even read the back, and I had not talked about this book with any of my friends. If I had done either, I would have read this book much sooner. But what brought me to the book was actually a movie trip to watch another novel turned movie. While watching the previews prior to “My Sister’s Keeper” I saw a trailer for the film adaptation of this novel and knew I had to read the book before the movie came out. I was not disappointed.

Even knowing from the beginning that they will wind up together, while I was reading I found I still want to know their story, see it build and root for them. Once I got into the book, I wanted it to go on, I wanted their story to keep going.

For those interested, the movie comes out in the U.S. on Friday, August 14.

The Time Traveler’s Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
ISBN: 978-0156029438
Pages: 560
Publisher: Mariner Books

3 Responses

  1. This is one of my favorite all time books – glad you enjoyed it too!

  2. Everyone seems to love this book!

  3. I have heard so many good things about this book. Like you, I saw the trailer for the movie (I think it was before My Sister’s Keeper as well), and I want to read the novel before I see the movie. I plan to start it on an 8 hour trip to my parent’s house this weekend!

Leave a Reply

