It’s Almost Summer, and that Means Beach Reads!!

There are many reasons that this is one of my favorite times of year – and no, not just because it’s nearly my birthday, not because the weather gets lovely (but these are totally awesome reasons too), I love that it’s time for the beach read.  Of course I love going to the beach or pool for a little break and being able to read, but there is something about the beach read.

I tend to designate my “beach read” time (as opposed to my, oh I have a few hours that I can sit at the pool and maybe read) as either a holiday weekend or when I am away. I may read what I am working on, but I prefer to give my reading a vacation too with something that I might not normally read, or take a break from something more intense for something lighter and fast.

On Sunday I posted a review for Fly Away by Kristin Hannah, which I thought my be my first beach read recommendation of the season, when I had an early spring hot weather getaway. I was not at the beach, and this book turned out to not be at all light (not that I didn’t enjoy it, you can see from the review, but it turns out it wasn’t what I personally look for in a beach read). This holiday weekend (thank you all for taking a holiday to celebrate my birthday with me), I am not sure what I am going to read. I have many books going right now, and really if I found time to dedicate to sit out and get into a book it should be to finish The Goldfinch (it is taking me forever), but I will hopefully find myself starting Elin Hilderbrand’s Beautiful Day. It takes place in Nantucket, there is a wedding and family drama – seems exactly what a beach read should be.

What are you going to be reading this holiday weekend? And what “beach reads” would you recommend to me and my readers for this summer?

Leave a comment