Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

HPRCSo, OK – I know I am late to the Harry Potter party, but thanks to Galleysmith, who is hosting the Harry Potter Reading Challenge, I am now not totally clueless when someone talks about a Muggle, Quiddith, or even Dumbledore.

As I wrote in my original post on this challenge, I had friends encourage me to read this series for awhile after I was assured it wasn’t just for children. But I still didn’t read it, until this challenge, and now I am looking forward to cracking open the next one.

Harry Potter Book 1I think many people are familiar with the story about the orphan Harry Potter, who has a Cinderella (pre-princess) life with his aunt, uncle and terror of a cousin until his 14th birthday, when he receives his official invitation to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The rest of the book chronicles Harry’s adventures making his way in the school with this new life, and trying to fill the shoes of what people expect of this boy.

Sometimes, you need a nice, easy read and this book was just fun – and ageless! There was a lot to enjoy, for me, I think my favorite was the owls, who wouldn’t want a carrier owl! But what I noticed, since I have not read a “children’s” book, or read to a child, in a while is that to capture their interest, you have to get to the action pretty quickly – so that was refreshing.

2 Responses

  1. I loved the whole series! My husband’s been talking about re-reading it.

  2. I loved all the Harry Potter craze and books. What was so great is how children and adults were now reading together again! I will be so sad when the last movie is done. I shared this series with only one of my children. I even have a collection of 8 numbered limited edition HP watches.

Leave a Reply

