What Are You Reading Monday, 24 August; and The Week That Was

on_mondaysThanks to J Kaye’s Book Blog for hosting this weekly meme.

Happy Monday! How is it that we now find ourselves in the last week of August. Seriously, it seems like summer was just beginning only days ago. I had so many posts planned, so many books in a pile to read. I think I need to abandon hope that I can fill a full summer into these last two weeks.

So, my book reading tally is down, but I did hit all my goals from last week. I finished up Baking Cakes in Kigali by Gaile Parkin and posted my review yesterday. I also managed to get up a post a on reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone yesterday as well, which I am reading for the Harry Potter Reading Challenge. Last week I started reading both The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory and Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris. I had more on the TBR pile that I should have put in the queue before The Other Queen, but following all the good reviews I have seen online for The White Queen, I wanted finish up The Other Queen first before jumping in to Gregory’s latest.

Last week I also wrote a post about breaking book spines and if your books look pristine or well-loved. I have enjoyed all your thoughts and comments on this subject. If you haven’t weighed in yet, or just want to see how your fellow book lovers keep their books check out To Break or Not to Break.

Oh, and one more thing before the rush of Back to School begins (or even just that feeling, if you aren’t in school or have kids that are, that September brings). I am doing my own personal Back to School Challenge from September through June to read between 5 – 10 books that might be found on a high school reading list that I have always meant to read, or re-read (I’ll have a post on this later this week). I know that there is so much going on with Book Blogger Appreciation Week, another challenge might be the last thing on your mind – but let me know if you might be interested and I might turn this into an official challenge (then my challenge will be to try and create an icon for it, lol).

So how about you? What are you reading this week?

BOOK I COMPLETED
1. Baking Cakes in Kigali by Gaile Parkin (My Review)

BOOKS TO COMPLETE
1. Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris
2. The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory

BOOK TO BEGIN
1. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

10 Responses

  1. What did you think about The Other Queen? Here is Mine

  2. I adore the Harry Potter Series. Anything my Philippa Gregory is fabulous. I have read all her novels except The White Queen, which I do not have a copy of. *sob*
    http://rundpinne.blogspot.com/2009/08/what-are-you-reading-monday.html

  3. I put the White Queen on my TBR list too — love historical novels. If you have a minute, stop by my blog and let me know what your favorite take-along book(s) would be in the event of death or getting stranded on an island 🙂

  4. Right now I’m reading The Book of Unholy Mischief. I plan to read Burnt Shadows once I finish it.

  5. I would be up for the Back to School Challenge! I feel like I missed out on quite a few books that seemed to have been required reading for a lot of people. I’ve always meant to go back and read some of them, but haven’t got around to it yet.

    I’ll check back when you post more about it!

  6. Just reading the words “breaking book spines” gave me the shivers! I get upset if a book has a crease on a page!

  7. How are you liking the Other Queen? It’s been a while since I read one of her novels. I don’t get around to many adult books lately…

  8. I have all the Sookie Stackhouse series but haven’t started it yet. Really should but have so many books to review before I start on my own books. Hope you have a great week 🙂

  9. the back to school challenge sounds like a good one. i’d join in if you do it. yay for harry! as for breaking book spines – not me.

  10. I absolutely loved PPZ — enjoy!

Leave a comment