What Are You Reading Monday, 17 August

on_mondaysThanks to J Kaye’s Book Blog for hosting this weekly meme.

So I started last week with such high hopes for starting and finishing many books. The previous week I had finished three, and I really thought this would be the week that I read at least another three. I was visiting my parents and figured I would have some  downtime to relax and read, but you know what they say about the best laid plans. Anyway, as much as I love reading, I think my time was very well spent visiting with my parents, traveling around all over in the car and just hanging out.

I am currently in the middle of reading an ARC copy of Baking Cakes in Kigali by Gaile Parkin, which I really hoped to have done and my review up by Tuesday, the day of the book release. Unfortunately that won’t be happening, but I will have it done this week and put the review up ASAP, but in the meantime I will certainly tease you with two sentences from the book tomorrow. So far, I am really enjoying it!

I did finish up a Challenge book last week, the first book in the Harry Potter series, so that goes towards both the Harry Potter Reading Challenge and the August Reading Challenge. I should have listened to those friends all along and started the series sooner, but at least I can read the books on my time without having to wait for the next one to be released. I am not always a patient person when it comes to books – how I will last until the third in the Millennium series comes out I don’t know.

Hope you all have a good reading week – now that I am back, I will be more regularily posting on the blog and on Twitter. If you aren’t following me yet, I am on Twitter: @BaileysandBooks.

BOOK I COMPLETED
1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

BOOK TO COMPLETE
1. Baking Cakes in Kigali by Gaile Parkin

BOOKS TO BEGIN
1. Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris
2. The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory

QUESTION(S) OF THE DAY
What are you reading this week? Do you have any summer reads that you really want to read in the next two weeks?

5 Responses

  1. I’ve never read the Sookie Stackhouse books but I want to. Happy reading!

  2. Hope you enjoy Living Dead in Dallas — love the Sookie series!

  3. So glad I am not the only one. Although I finished two, one was so thin that it could have been done in an hour by a slow reader. I just couldn’t get in the reading mood last week. It’s all SWOON’s fault! 😉

  4. I can’t wait to see what you think of Baking Cakes in Kigali.

  5. Nice list, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

