Finish a Book, or Finish a Challenge

Finish a book, or finish a challenge … This is the question I am asking myself as I look at my progress on Dracula, Draculamy fourth and final book for Stainless Steel Droppings’ R.I.P. IV Challenge .

Don’t get me wrong, I am enjoying The Count, and I’m not thinking of never finishing, it’s just not a fast read, and with three of four books complete, and a challenge deadline of October 31st, I also want to finish this fun challenge.

That leaves me looking at another set of Vampires sitting on my shelf that I could potentially finish up by Club DeadSaturday night (but even that might be a little too ambitious). Of course I mean Vampire Bill and Vampire Eric in the third book from the Sookie Stackhouse series Club Dead (which would also put me one more book in on another challenge I am in, the Sookie Stackhouse Reading Challenge hosted by Beth Fish Reads).

So, I won’t be leaving Transylvania and that castle on the precipice for good. I just need to spend a chunk of quiet time with The Count, and with pumpkin carving, scary movies and trick-or-treating on the horizon – I don’t see that happening in the next few days. So it looks like the Halloween season will be extending into November for me. And who doesn’t love an extended holiday?!

QUESTION OF THE DAY:
Have you ever changed up your last book at the last minute to better meet a challenge goal?

5 Responses

  1. I think the important thing on challenges is not necessarily completing them, but to try something new in the process. So I think you’re just good!

  2. Since I love my vampires all year it’s Halloween for me. I’m kind of in a similar sitch so I’m setting aside a book and reading another. I guess I’m just not in the mood. There’s nothing wrong with putting aside a book in favor of another since sometimes you just don’t feel like reading it if that makes any sense. Maybe I just need to go back and reread the series because starting the book over again. I’d go with the Sookie Stackhouse book since that’s such a fun series.

  3. I haven’t changed a book, but then again, I’ve never finished a challenge, so maybe I should have!

  4. I’ve given you an award.

    http://readingwithtequila.blogspot.com/2009/10/one-lovely-blog.html

    jennsicurella at verizon dot net

    Jennifer @ Reading with Tequila

  5. I think the goal of the challenges is to have fun. I say change it up if you would like. I always reserve the right to change my mind!

Leave a comment