Just in Time for the Fall Chill – the R.I.P. IV Challenge

Here it is, almost September, I have been book blogging for a few months now – making friends, getting followers, it’s all going along so nicely …. so nicely in fact that I have been thinking of hosting my own challenge, when I see My Friend Amy’s post this morning about entering the R.I.P. IV Challenge. Now should a girl who is already participating in four challenges, and wants to test her blogging skills at hosting her own say “Oh great – I’m in!” Probably not, but when do I do what I “should?”

rip4150The R.I.P. IV Challenge (which stands for Readers Imbibing Peril) hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings invites readers to read those books that raise our heart rates as the autumn winds blow in:
Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

Seriously – how could I not sign up?!

rip4firstThere are different challenge levels. I aspire to Peril the First, reading any four books in any of the listed genres. Can I do it? Only time will tell.

Now for books, what will I read? Well instead of putting down four specific books I will read, I am going to list out some possibilities for my book pool. Please feel free to weigh in with your thoughts, or new suggestions.

1. Dracula by Bram Stoker (yes, I have read so many of the other vampires, how can I not have read where it all began)
2. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley (another classic that has alluded me)
3. The Physick Books of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe (I loved going to Salem as a kid, will be nice to go back, at least in book form)
4. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith (this has been on the must read for awhile and is cross read for Everything Austen)
5. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova (been on my shelf for so long, it’s about time it saw the sunlight)
6. The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith (because I’ve seen too many ads for the new TV series to not be a little curious)

This challenge runs from September 1 – October 31. Come join the fun. Sign up on Stainless Steel Droppings, and even if you don’t – I highly recommend you check out the blog and follow along with us!

As for my challenge, seeing all that is going on with Book Blogger Appreciation Week and wanting to build up my blog following a bit more before taking on the challenge of hosting a challenge, I think I will hold off until the start of the  new year and make it my reading list resolutions challenge. So I hope you will join me for that.

9 Responses

  1. I am so glad that you decided to say, ‘what the heck’ and join in! We try to be laid back and have a lot of fun with it…it is such a wonderful time of year to read these kind of books.

    Dracula is one of my all time favorite books, if not ‘the’ favorite, and I’m determined to try and get The Historian read this year as well.

    If you are interested in vampires, which is a big assumption based solely on your comment after Dracula, I just finished The Strain and it was very good. I’ll be posting a link to my review very soon.

    Thanks again for joining in!

  2. oh yes let the historian see the light.. it’s quite a good book!

  3. Carl runs a great challenge! I read The Historian for RIP a year or two ago and really enjoyed it (although it’s a chunkster)!!

  4. Wonderful list! I’m starting to think maybe I should read Dracula.

  5. Have fun with the challenge!

  6. love your classic picks of dracula and frankenstein. i had a hard time with the historian. not to rush you, but if you read ppz by sep 5 you can be eligible for a giveaway prize on my site. happy reading.

  7. I hope to read The Historian as well! 🙂

    I”m curious about what kind of challenge you’re going to do… 😉

  8. I always save my mysteries for the fall time, particularly in October, of course. I do enjoy a good Gothic mystery — have you read Shadow of the Wind? I plan on reading his new one The Angel’s Game. Also on my TBR list is The Blue Death and the Physick Book of Deliverance Dane. Hmmm, maybe I should accept this challenge. We’ll see.

Leave a comment