Expanding Reading Horizons

A personal goal of mine for my 2014 reading is to expand my reading horizons. To that end I had thought about possibly even creating/hosting a challenge to read books with origins of a country aside from the United States. As I was thinking about this I saw an article on MediaBistro’s GalleyCat about journalist Ann Morgan who decided to read a book from every country. Here is Morgan’s blog about the challenge she set for herself. Since I am setting this challenge more for myself, I am not sure where my reading will take me, but I will certainly be turning to Morgan’s list for some guidance. As you know about me, I am not a speed reader, and with thesis work, work and running training, I won’t hit all the countries Morgan did this year (this will certainly be a challenge of mine for many years to come). But I will once a month do a post of what my book will be, and its country of origin – and at the end of the month I will do a review. If you want to join me, let me know and I will happily put something a little more formal together. Or if you just have some recommendations, please send them my way!

Another article on GalleyCat directed me to a reading challenge hosted by the blog Somerset Books “The 50 States Reading Challenge.” Another opportunity to challenge myself, and maybe find some new writers, styles and voices – I’m in! I’m setting a goal for myself of “Frequent Flier” (16-20 states visited), which will be around 2 books per month (giving me some wiggle room, too). I’ll be sure to post on what I will be reading and doing a review for those books as well.

It’s already the 12th, I’m a little behind (good thing I gave myself that wiggle room), but I am not one to worry about starting all resolutions immediately on Jan 1st. So I am now ready, let the challenges begin!

Who’s with me?

One Response

  1. We think this is a wonderful idea! We didn’t hit all 50 states, but we covered more than half of the. A perfect gift for book lovers to go along with this challenge, is the book A Journey Through Literary America. Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

