2013 in Books

Wow – where has 2013 gone? It has certainly been a wonderful year filled with many great things, including some good books. I didn’t hit my reading goal of 50, but I’m ok with that. I will have my reading resolutions post out soon but in the meantime I wanted to share with you some of my favorites and not-so favorites of 2013.

Best of 2013
I had two top favorites for this past year (sorry, I know a tie isn’t fair, but it’s my blog so I can do what I like, right). They are the two that I have been recommending to people.

The Age of MiraclesThe Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker
I did write a review of this one for the site. Aside from my like of good post-apocalypse fiction, this book was a solid coming of age story that I really enjoyed.

 

The Snow ChildThe Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey
I’m not sure what happened this summer that I didn’t get a review on the site, but this was such a wonderful book – a true adult fairytale. It’s winter now, grab this book and curl up with a cup of tea and a plate of cookies (I’m thinking speculoos).

And here’s a wildcard – one that wasn’t part of the tie, but still really good …

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern was also very charming and if you haven’t read it you probably should.

Overrated of 2013
Beautiful RuinsBeautiful Ruins by Jess Walter
Not that it wasn’t a good book. It was, and had some very interesting writing techniques, but I didn’t find it as great as I was expecting it to be. Here is my review.

I had a strong reading start, and then it got set back because of school, marathon training and such – but here’s my Goodreads list of many of the books I read this year.

How was your year. What was your favorite? What about one that you were expecting more out of?

2 Responses

  1. I haven’t read any of those books but I think I own every one of them. Sigh. I’m so far behind.

  2. The Age of Miracles is on my Top 10 of 2013 too! So glad I’ve found someone else who loved that book as much a I did 🙂

Leave a Reply

