Review: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey by The Countess of Carnarvon

Lady AlminaI am not going to pretend that I was an early adopter of the hit PBS show Downton Abbey. I had heard about it, and thought about checking it out, but it wasn’t until the days between Christmas and New Year that I not only watched my first episode, but watched all two seasons in a big binge fest. (The holidays are about binging, right?!)

I loved the show, and to tide me over until Season 3 started I ordered up Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey: The Lost Legacy of Highclere Castle by The Countess of Carnarvon. This book provides the history of one of the stars of Downton Abbey – the castle itself. It has such an amazing history, and while I love Cora and Mary and all the rest of the Grantham family, the Carnarvon family history, and Lady Almina, are such an amazing story I wouldn’t mind seeing that as a series.

To me, the fun of the book was learning all sorts of amazing things so I won’t spoil what I thought was a great sense of discovery and tell you all the things I learned. I’ll just say I really enjoyed this book, it was a good, fast, really interesting read. And if you are a lover of the show, hopefully it will tide you over until January 2014.

3 Responses

  1. I bet my mom would like this!

  2. […] Review Posted: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey […]

  3. […] reviews: A Cup of Ti Book Group of One 2 Kids and Tired Books Bailey’s and Books Books in the Spotlight The Printed Word Found Between the Covers Wow, who knew it was such a […]

Leave a Reply

