Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

0307744434.01._SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_I am sitting here at my computer wondering where to begin on my review for Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus. I don’t know if I have the words to properly convey how delightful and enchanting I found this book. I see that I don’t because those adjectives are not really proper here because that makes the book sound like it is fluff fare – which it is definitely not. Morgenstern’s tale of a master illusionist challenge with a charmed circus as the playing field was as imaginative as it was well-written.

As you can imagine, when dealing with a charmed circus, there are many different plots and characters to follow, so I will try and keep this pretty simple. Aside from the illusions, and charms, and mystery, this book is about love. At the center of the tale are Celia and Marco – our charmed-crossed lovers, entangled in a battle not of their choosing. From their youth, each was marked by their mentor to play, and win, an ultimate game of one-ups-manship in the world of illusions. The fact that they were pitted against each other made it a near certainty that they were fated for each other. It is not until they realize and declare their love that they learn the true nature of their challenge, that when a winner is declared, it is because there literally is only one left standing.

Before I started to read this book, someone mentioned on my blog that it was good I was reading a paper version (rather than electronic) because it would make it easier to follow the chronology, and I have to agree. I did find myself flipping back to check on the dates of chapters, it does jump a little. Of course with a story like this, I can see that keeping the reader a little off kilter is just what this story dictates.

One Response

  1. You sound exactly like me, I didn’t know where to start with my review either! So much to say about it.

Leave a Reply

