2012 A Year in the Reading Life

So as you may have seen me mention on this site many times this year, 2012 was not a banner year for me in reading quantity. In fact it was the second smallest year since I have been tracking the books I read in my book journal which I started in 2006. But, there were some very quality books that I read in 2012 – both for school and personal reading (I track all my books in my book journal, but on this site I usually confine it to books for pleasure). Thanks to my class at Harvard I finally read some of the great American masters that have escaped my eyes previously, or at least some of their other works that I never got to: Hemingway, Fitzgerald, Stein, Miller, etc. etc. Any year that includes the likes of this crew has got to be a quality year, right?!

Instead of giving a list of every book I read, here is a short list of some top picks from my personal reading pile:

Favorite Fiction: The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbauch (I received from LibraryThing’s ER Program)

Favorite Non-Fiction: Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo (I received from LibraryThing’s ER Program)

Surprise Enjoyment: Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe

Page Turner: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

 

I have some lofty reading goals for this year that might be a little overreaching — but shoot for the stars and all.

– Read 50 personal books (not including those for my classes or thesis). This is a tall order, but I am really going to try and do this, or at least get close.

– Put a dent in my To Be Read pile, including some big tomes like the Steve Jobs biography, classics that I somehow missed , and a few books I picked up in Paris last Spring.

– Read more non-fiction for non-school reasons.

 

I think that is it, for now. I am not one to go crazy about sliding off my resolutions, and I find myself re-evaluating and restarting sometimes, and I am fine with that. So here is to a great 2013. Happy Reading!

What about you, what are some of your 2013 Reading Resolutions?

 

One Response

  1. I loved The Language of Flowers too. I put the audio of Stories I Only Tell My Friends on hold at the library so should have it soon.

Leave a Reply

