What Are You Reading — Monday, 24 December

Well, here we are — the last full reading week of 2012. I can’t say that this has been my best reading year for quantity, but I have read some amazing books this year, and some true (but enjoyable) brain rot … yes I am looking at you Mr. Grey. And, it’s Monday, so that means it is time for Book Journey’s fabulous weekly posting “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

1594135517.01._SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_I did not finish up any books last week, but I did begin Amor Towles’ Rules of Civility, which I am truly enjoying – many nights I found myself reading “just one more chapter” before I fell asleep. The book had me right from opening up at a Walker Evans photo exhibit – period fiction and a photography piece, I am in!

 

 

 

Widow ClicquotI should have Rules done hopefully soon and I have decided to end the year reading what I think will be a very appropriate book to bring me to the New Year – The Widow Clicquot: The Story of a Champagne Empire and the Woman Who Ruled It. Seems like a good story to know before toasting the New Year. I borrowed this book a long time ago and it has just been sitting on my shelf, so this is also a good start to one of my (many) resolutions – to get through many of my “To Be Reads” that are anxiously awaiting me to pick them up off my shelves.

How about you? What are you reading this last full reading week of 2012?

P.S. – To those of you who celebrate, I wish you a very Merry Christmas!

4 Responses

  1. I enjoyed Rules of Civility, I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying it!

  2. Rules of Civility is one I’ve been planning to read. Enjoy your holidays!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  3. I think we have the same goal for next year – lower TBR mountain. I wish us both success in our endeavors. Here is my Monday Report. Have a great holiday!

  4. I just started Skinny by Donna Cooner and, at the rate i’m going, it may be the last book of the year. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

