It’s That Time of Year

As the end of the year is quickly approaching, we start to see everyone’s list of the best books this year (yes, I will be compiling one too). I love reading the lists – seeing what I need to add to my list, feeling superior when I have read a book or two, but mostly feeling that I really need to up my reading quantity (and up the quality non fiction books I am reading).

The first list I have gone through is The New York Times 10 Best Books of 2012. How did I do? Not so great – I was 1 for 10 in books that I have read (I got Behind the Beautiful Forevers from Library Thing’s ER program) , but there were two other books that were already on my To Get and Read list – so now I guess I have seven more too.

OK, 10% – I guess it could be worse. But regardless of the number, I am going to focus on the joy I get from reading in general, while making lots of reading resolutions for next year.

Do you follow the “Best Of” lists and judge your reading by them or use them as a guide for next year’s reading?

 

One Response

  1. I’ve read 2 of the NY Times books and liked one of them. I put more store in other bloggers’ lists than critics’ lists.

Leave a Reply

