Review: Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris

If you regularly read my little blog, or happen to have seen some of my recent posts you might know that I ended 2009 in supernatural style with three books from two different challenges I am in. I had an end goal in mind of reading 50 books.

For my last book of the year I picked up Charlaine Harris’ Dead to the World. I was of two minds about this book because I wasn’t a huge fan of Club Dead (here is the link to my thoughts) – but overall I have enjoyed the series, and the reading pace that Sookie and the rest of the characters usually provide seemed to make it a good choice when I had only Dec 30 and 31st to finish one more book.

I am so glad that I did. This book had the Sookie that I have come to know and enjoy. Then there was Eric, a character that I like when he projects his self-assured persona, who was now equally fun in his role as an amnesiac.

In this fourth book in the Sookie Stackhouse series, Bill is out of the country working on his research project and Sookie is resolving to ring in the New Year drama-free, which lasts for a few hours. As Sookie is driving home from work in the middle of the night she finds Eric wandering on the side of the road, frightened and stripped of his memory. A few days after Sookie brings Eric to her home to hide him from whoever has done this to him, Jason goes missing.

Because Eric has no memory of being Eric, he is like a totally new man that Sookie finds herself drawn even closer to. So there is this budding relationship for Sookie to work through, while she is also helping to find and defeat the person who has attacked Eric, and look for her brother.

In addition to the vampires (and shape-shifter Sam) that populate this series, this book brings back Alcide and his werewolf pack and introduces a new community of shifters and also witches. So there was a lot going on.

I read this book as part of the Sookie Stackhouse Challenge, and it was a fun way to end my 2009 reading year.

Dead to the World
Author: Charlaine Harris
ISBN: 978-0441012183
Published: May 2005 (paperback)
Publisher: Ace
Pages: 310

5 Responses

  1. I agree – this book was really fun! Harris is so readable, in spite of all that goes on!

  2. This was probably my favorite in the series!

  3. This is one series I haven’t been able to get into. I really wanted to like it to.

  4. I’ve got to get back with this series or I will fail miserably at this challenge.

  5. I love this series! It is one of my favourites! I really love the addition of the shifter community too. I am currently holding a discussion on my blog about which Sookie book is everyone’s favourite. I am interested to see if there is a stand out book that most fans seem to agree on! Come check it out if you like. I like your blog too, some good reviews on here!

Leave a Reply

