Thoughts on Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling

I spent my Christmas holidays with Harry Potter (and of course my family). I was looking for something that would be fun and fast moving (so I could hit 50 books before the end of 09) and HP and the Prisoner of Azkaban and HP and the Goblet of Fire fit the bill.

Now I know I am not the last one to read Harry, but sometimes it feels like it. I mean I entered the Harry Potter Reading Challenge not only not having read the books, but also not having seen any of the movies (I have now seen about ½ of the first movie – but that’s really it).

There is a lot to like about this series (seriously I get so excited reading about the owls probably more than anything else and these two books had plenty of owl appearances). But what I appreciate most about the books is the growth of Harry, Ron and Hermione (and not just the growth in page number with each book) but in the way they act and how they think. Yes it’s a fantasy book, and yes they are wizards but they are still kids, now teenagers, and you can related to their experiences (even if they are in class learning how to make potions, or tell the future; playing games on broomsticks and fighting magical creatures).  To me, the journey is as fun as the adventure.

Thanks again Michelle for hosting this challenge, otherwise I might not have picked up these books.

4 Responses

  1. My whole family enjoyed this series. I envy you getting to enjoy it for the first time.

  2. I think you summed up my thoughts really well, too! Their growing up was also one of my favorite parts of the book. There’s a big difference between Harry, Hermione and Ron in book 1 and in book 7!

  3. I’m so glad you’re enjoying these books! The Goblet of Fire is one of my favourites in the series.

  4. You are breezing right through all of these books! Congratulations on so successfully navigating the challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

