Tuesday Teaser, 5 January – The Age of Innocence

It’s that time of week again for Should Be Reading’s fun meme Teaser Tuesdays.

So how does this work:

  • Grab your current book
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

For the first tease of the new year, I am teasing you with The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton.

“’Certain nuances escape Beaufort,’ said Mr. Jackson, cautiously inspecting the broiled shad, and wondering for the thousandth time why Mrs. Archer’s cook always burnt the roe to a cinder. (Newland, who had long shared his wonder, could always detect it in the older man’s expression of melancholy disapproval.)” Pg 35

QUESTION OF THE DAY
What’s your tease for this Tuesday?

13 Responses

  1. Read this years ago, I remember Newland but not Mr Jackson!

    My teaser is from The Greengage Summer by Rumer Godden:

    http://misadventuresofmoppet.wordpress.com/2010/01/05/teaser-tuesday-the-greengage-summer-by-rumer-godden/

  2. I’ve never read this one though I probably should. Great teaser!
    Here’s mine.

  3. The movie was great, the book however was very hard ( for me) to get into. Usually it’s the other way around.

    Here is my teaser

    Have a great week and happy reading.

  4. I love Edith Wharton and need to read this book. Thanks for the great teaser! Mine is at The Crowded Leaf.

  5. This is a novel I find myself re-reading through the years. My TT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/01/angel-and-apostle-teaser-tuesdays.html

  6. I’ve always wanted to read this one! Great teaser this week 🙂

    I am re-reading Watership Down by Richard Adams this week. You can find my teaser here.

  7. I’m a big fan of Edith Wharton – i might have to re-read this one!

    Here’s my Teaser Tuesday

  8. Good teaser! I should pick this book up again. I don’t think I ever finished…

  9. Interesting teaser. I’ve never attempted this one, but it does look good!

  10. Interesting teaser! This one is on my long-term TBR list.

    My teaser is here.

Leave a Reply

