A Look Back at December 2009

Happy New Year! I hope you all enjoyed your holiday season. I certainly did – happily getting in some reading time, but not much time writing here or commenting on your blog posts (this will certainly be a resolution for 2010).

For my year, I had a few different reading goals. My initial resolution was to read 45 books (I had an “at least” number for non-fiction or award winning fiction, which I don’t think I met). As I began this blog and tried to make more reading time I tried  to push myself, and signed up for the 75 books list on LibraryThing. As some point I realized 75 wouldn’t happen, but pushed to at least hit 50. Well, without a day to spare, I did. Now for 2010 I signed up for J. Kaye’s 100+ more as an aspirational goal, and will sign up again for the 75 list on LibraryThing, and try and make even more time for reading.

Speaking of challenges, the Everything Austen challenge hosted by Stephanie’s Written Word ended on January 1. I was doing well during the summer, but think I needed a little Jane hiatus towards the end of the year, so I finished 3 out of 6 books. I will definitely read the ones I planned on at some point in 2010. I was glad to find this challenge to revisit Pride and Prejudice as well as finally read some of the “new” Jane as well. My two other challenges from 2009 are on track, and as you may have seen from my previous posts and new 2010 Challenge page, I have a lot of challenges on my plate for 2010 (and am sure I will be adding more as we get in to the year).

So that’s a little look at my December. As the holiday season draws to a close I will be back book blogging on a more regular basis, and hopefully keeping on track with some of these bookish resolutions.

How about you, any resolutions for your reading or book blogging?

A Look Back:

Books Read
1. Decoding the Lost Symbol by Simon Cox (sent from publicist)
2. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows
3. Fallen by Lauren Kate (sent from publisher)
4. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling
5. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling
6. Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris

Reviews
The Lost Symbol
Decoding The Lost Symbol (sent from publicist)

Challenges
Everything Austen hosted by Stephanie’s Written Word
Challenge Time: July 1, 2009 – January 1, 2010
Books Completed: 3 (of 6)

Harry Potter Reading Challenge hosted by Galleysmith
Challenge Time: August 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010
Books Completed: 4 (of 7)

Sookie Stackhouse Challenge hosted by Beth Fish Reads
Challenge Time: July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010
Books Completed: 4 (of 9)

3 Responses

  1. I’m avoiding resolutions, but I guess I do have some goals since I’ve signed up for 7 challenges. Good luck with goals and challenges.

  2. You had a great reading year. Enjoy all of your challenges. Revisiting Jane is always awesome.

  3. I love challenges, whether I finish them or not.

Leave a Reply

