More 2010 Challenges

With less than two weeks left until we hit 2010, I am thinking about the challenges that will take me through my next reading year.

I made my first challenge declaration with J. Kaye’s 100+ Reading Challenge (completion of which will be nothing short of a miracle, or the work of reading lots of pamphlets). But thanks to these three other challenges, I will be that much closer to my 100 books goal.

The 2010 TBR Challenge. For this challenge, I need to pick 12 books from my TBR list that have been there for six months or longer. I am pulling books off of my shelves that have been sitting, patiently waiting to be read, but always put aside (some I have even started previously, but for whatever reason were never finished – re-reads are not allowed, BTW). What will be most challenging about this challenge is that once I have created my list, I can’t change it. Here is my list:

  1. The Age of Innocence
  2. A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius
  3. Anna Karenina
  4. Atlas Shrugged
  5. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
  6. David Copperfield
  7. Empire Falls
  8. High Fidelity
  9. The Historian
  10. Jane Eyre
  11. The Pilot’s Wife
  12. The Poisonwood Bible

And because some of my TBRs are so big, I will also be joining the Chunkster Reading Challenge (I just love the title of this one since “The Goonies” is one of my all time favorite movies, although I was more of a Mouth fan, than Chunk). Given some of the books both in my TBR Challenge, and others waiting to be read (yes I’m looking at you Under the Dome and World Without End) I will be joining at the Mor-book-ly Obese level, which is six or more chunky books. FYI, if you’re interested in joining this one Chunksters for this challenge are books more than 450 pages, and it doesn’t begin until February 1st.

Finally (well probably not my final challenge I will sign-up for in 2010, but the final one that I will post about here), I am signing up for the South Asian Author Challenge. I plan to use this challenge to discover authors I have not previously read. I am going to join the challenge at the Five Book level.

So before the champagne cork is even popped, I have already signed up for four challenges in 2010 (and that doesn’t count the other two I am in for 09 that carry through to 2010). Wow!

How about you? What challenges are you going to participate in in 2010?

5 Responses

  1. I’m thinking about a handful of challenges and should decide soon. Good luck with your challenges!

  2. Sounds like you will have a rich reading year! I love A Tree Grows in Brooklyn and The Poisonwood Bible.

  3. So far I have joined 5 challenges:

    1. South Asian Authors
    2. What’s in a Name
    3. Gilmore Girls
    4. Social Justice
    5. 451

    So many of the challenges are tempting but I am trying to find the right balance between challenged and overcommitted!

  4. I have some similar choices as you. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is one of my favorites.

    I wanted to read more classics for these challenges, but I, too, noticed most of them are Chunksters. After reading the HUGE Count of M.C., I will wait a bit.

    Good Luck!

  5. Some great challenges here.

    I read The Pilot’s Wife and really enjoyed it. I have World Without End to get through also. Gah.

Leave a Reply

