November in Review

Oh November, where did you go? How can it be December 3rd already?

In looking back over the month, I see I didn’t put a big dent in the Books Read pile. That makes me a little sad, I really had hoped to read more than four books. I was so certain I would finish up 50 by the end of the year (although the goal I set for myself on December 31, 2008 was 45) but as of today I have only finished 44 (but should have #45 done by the end of the week). Can I really finish up five books before December 31st? Guess this means I might have to save Under the Dome for either book #51, or the new year, whichever comes first.

While I would have liked to have a better reading record, I am happy with catching up on my reviews. I also hit a milestone with my 100th blog post!

My challenges are sort of stalled, and think I need to officially realize that I will not be participating in the Back to School Challenge hosted by Five Borough Book Review. I will be saving up the books I wanted to read for next year because I really loved the idea of school reading list books.

All the holiday excitement, prep, planning and outings might put a crimp in reading and blogging, unless I take a few extra pieces of Peppermint Bark to sustain me for some late nights here. But, that’s OK. If I don’t hit 50 books, no big deal – there is always next year!

How about you? How was your reading month, and how is your last month of 09 looking?

A Look Back:

Books Read
1. Club Dead by Charlaine Harris
2. Benny and Shrimp by Katarina Mazetti (review copy provided by publicist)
3. The Private Papers of Eastern Jewel by Maureen Lindley (review copy provided by publisher)
4. The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

Reviews (disclosures noted on review)
Dancing with Ana
The White Queen
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Club Dead
Benny & Shrimp
The Private Papers of Eastern Jewel

Challenges
Everything Austen hosted by Stephanie’s Written Word
Challenge Time: July 1, 2009 – January 1, 2010
Books Completed: 3 (of 6)

Harry Potter Reading Challenge hosted by Galleysmith
Challenge Time: August 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010
Books Completed: 2 (of 8 )

Sookie Stackhouse Challenge hosted by Beth Fish Reads
Challenge Time: July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010
Books Completed: 3 (of 9)

5 Responses

  1. Pick out some short books and you can reach fifty for sure! LOL Don’t pressure yourself – enjoy what you read.

  2. I know, November seems to have rushed on by without ever stopping to catch it’s breath.

    Good luck with reaching your goal of 50 books! I’m with Kathy – pick up some shorter books, and you won’t have a problem!

  3. I know what you say about it is already Dec 3rd aghhh-I love the cover of Across the Endless River.

  4. I have 10 full books and 2 to finish to make my goal of 100. I’m going for some short ones (maybe GN) so I can make it! On the other hand, I’m not going to sweat it. Reading is fun, not a contest.

  5. I think you have done well. I have no idea how many books I read in a year which is one reason I started a blog. But I’ve only been keeping track since June. I signed up for J.Kaye’s 100 books challenge for 2010. I hope I can make it

Leave a Reply

