Review: Club Dead by Charlaine Harris

Sookie Reading ChallengeI had such high hopes for Club Dead, the third book in the Sookie Stackhouse series, which I read for the Sookie Stackhouse Challenge hosted by Beth Fish Reads.

Club DeadI liked the first book, Dead Until Dark, and really enjoyed the second book Living Dead in Dallas (check out my review), so I’m not sure what it was about Club Dead, but I really did not like it. Not only was I not engaged in the plot, but I had a hard time following some parts of the story, I felt like maybe I had missed or skipped something when I was reading, I don’t know. I guess I just didn’t connect with it on any level.

In addition to the usual characters – Sookie, Bill and Eric – this book introduced the werewolf Alcide. Alcide provides Sookie an entree into the exclusive Club Josephine, also known as Club Dead, so that Sookie can listen to minds to try and find out what happened to Bill, who has been kidnapped. For me, the only enjoyable part of the book was Eric. He continued to have his fun, snarky attitude and brought good levity to the book. I found Sookie to be sort of annoying, not her charming, cute self. And Bill – I didn’t like his character in this book at all.

I will continue to read the rest of the series, not just for the challenge, but because I hope that this was just one that didn’t measure up to the other two, which I did enjoy, and the next ones will pick up again.

Club Dead
Author: Charlaine Harris
ISBN: 978-1841493015
Published: May 6, 2004 (paperback)
Publisher: Orbit
Pages: 284

4 Responses

  1. I agree that Bill’s character is a bit annoying in this book. But for me it makes it more interesting that he is complex and not always perfect.

  2. It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy this as much as the first two. I haven’t read these books yet although they are sitting on my shelves for the Sookie challenge! I hope that the next book is better and you can get back into the series. 🙂

  3. I’ve only read the first book and it was just okay for me. I’m hoping the series picks up.

  4. I didn’t love this as much as some of the others. I think I was disappointed at the lack of Bill but that is kind of how the rest of them go. But Eric gets more time and they are really good.

Leave a Reply

