Review: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling

HPRCSo, as I have previously mentioned, until Galleysmith’s Harry Potter Reading Challenge I had not read any Harry Potter books, and wasn’t sure if they were for me.

HP Book 2I had a favorable experience with J. K. Rowling’s first Harry Potter book, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. It was fun, and I had to agree with so many others that it wasn’t just for kids, or for parents to read to their kids at bedtime. And I have to say that I have similar feelings for Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I wouldn’t say I enjoyed it as much as the first (isn’t that so often the case), but I certainly got to a point where I wanted to keep turning the page to see how it all turned out.

Of course there were parts where I found myself groaning (much like Hermione) about risks Harry (and Ron) took (seriously, stealing a flying car to get to school?!) But I find that I do that with characters beyond those in children’s and young adult books so I won’t put that just on being a “responsible” adult. And of course where is the adventure if risks aren’t taken and rules aren’t broken.

I know these characters have grown up since there are seven books in the series, and this is only Book Two, but even between Books One and Two, I see and like the character development. Rowling also knows how to build suspense and adventure that makes me want to keep turning the page (and get creeped out – like by giant spiders), and then jump into the next book. I have only seen part of the first movie as well, so really I don’t already know what’s going to happen, and it’s sort of fun.

I am really quite happy that Galleysmith is hosting this challenge that gave me the nudge to read this series. Thanks Michelle!

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Author: J. K. Rowling
ISBN: 978-0848710682
Published: August 15, 2000 (paperback)
Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks
Pages: 352

4 Responses

  1. I enjoyed this whole series, but I do remember there was one book that just didn’t live up to the rest of them.

  2. I was a bit wary of this series too, but ended up loving all the books and have re-read all but the last one a few times. I’m excited that you’re reading all of them! The first two were pretty good, but I found that the series really took off around book 3 or 4. I can’t wait to hear what you think of the books to come.

  3. glad to hear you’re liking harry! he is the best. and it ends well.

  4. […] Bailey’s and Books “Rowling also knows how to build suspense and adventure that makes me want to keep turning the page” […]

Leave a Reply

