Review: Dancing with Ana by Nicole Barker

Dancing with AnaHigh school BFFs Beth, Jenny, Melanie and Rachel share everything with each other. So one day while dishing about one of the high school’s most popular girls, who they think is so skinny, they decide to all go on diets together to lose a few pounds. For Beth and Rachel, especially Beth, they start taking it to an extreme.

This is the basic story in Nicole Barker’s young adult book Dancing with Ana.

While it has been awhile since I was a teen, when these girls were just being high school girls experiencing budding romances, high school parties and stuff, I thought they were well written teenagers. I enjoyed Beth discovering that the boy next door was more to her than a friend, and came to like each of the girls. But this book addresses very heavy and sensitive topics and it seemed to me that the resolutions were too easy, glossed over, and mostly achieved through the help of their new boyfriends.

So, ultimately, I really did not connect with this book at all.

Thanks to the author for sending me a copy of this book to read/review.

Dancing with Ana
Author: Nicole Barker
ISBN: 978-0-615-28852-9
Published: 2009
Publisher: The Golden Road Press
Pages: 170

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for your review – I think I’ll skip this one.

  2. I read this book recently and I totally agree with you about the end being very easy. I did not feel that the ending was convincing and I just couldn’t connect with it. I think it might be a good book for a younger audience, but it just wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

