BBAW Reading Meme

BBAW_Celebrate_BooksToday’s meme for Book Blogger Appreciation Week is a list of questions, and the name of the game is to keep it brief (like five words brief). I made a concerted effort to keep it short, but in some cases I couldn’t help myself, and there were some that I really had to keep from writing a short dissertation on (like folding pages, writing in books, laying them flat – if you read my post To Break or Not to Break That is the Question you already have some insight into my thoughts on this, haha).

So here goes …

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?
Not usually, but occasionally Cheerios

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
Slightly horrified, only use flags

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears?
OMG, seriously?! Bookmark (or its equivalent)

Laying the book flat open?
Nope, that would break the spine 

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?
Both

Hard copy or audiobooks?
Audiobook, what’s an audiobook?

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?
Any point

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?
No, but I really should

What are you currently reading?
Well four books but this morning it was an ARC of The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

What is the last book you bought?
Actually there were two: My Life in France by Julia Child and Dracula by Bram Stoker (but hitting the store today for a book by a Mr. Brown, maybe you have heard of him??)

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?
I can, but not totally successfully

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?
Morning at the gym

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?
If I really like the characters I love series books, although I am quite impatient to wait for the next.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?
Recently it seems to be the Millennium Trilogy books by Steig Larsson ( The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire and the upcoming – which I have not read but can hardly wait – The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest)

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)
If I’m trying – by height

5 Responses

  1. *gasp* But breaking the spine is the best part of opening a book. I view it as a sign of love…

  2. I always get vertigo if I try to read while moving so doing so at the gym would be so brutal! I’ve always marveled at those that had steady balance enough to do so though.

    🙂

  3. I can’t read more than one book at a time successfully either. I enjoy an audio book on a road trip!

  4. You are a purist. I’m not a “beat the crap out of a book” kind of reader, but I don’t mind that they show some wear. I try not create spine creases in my non ARC books. I don’t care as much with ARCs.

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog today! I’ve added you to my Google Reader and look forward to getting to know you better.

  5. I really need to read Steig Larsson’s books – everyone seems to love them!

Leave a Reply

