New Challenge – The Back to School Challenge

My social networking sites are a flutter of posts about packing kids up for school, subway cars filled again with kids, etc. etc. It is back to school time and to me it is always an exciting time of year. I never had that dread, or sadness at a “loss of summer” for me it was always about possibilities (another friend said that Labor Day feels like the day after New Year’s and I couldn’t agree more). I find myself even starting new regimens, trying to refocus (I was not so successful yesterday, but like New Year’s I am more of a build to it over the week kind of girl).

I like reading lists which is why I think I enter so many challenges. When I go in to a book store I get total ADD and can sometimes get so overwhelmed in possibilities that I can’t focus.

BtSbutton2So liking back to school time, and liking reading lists, of course as soon as I saw Five Borough Book Review was hosting a Back to School Challenge I knew I was in. But what list of 4 books do I make for myself? There are so many I think I missed, or didn’t give a fair shake to, or just want to read again now that I am away from my high school mindset. It’s really that there are so many more than 4 that are on my own personal list, but I think I have finally narrowed it down to 4 here. And then, once the real New Year comes on Jan 1, 2010 maybe I will make up another list, or borrow someone’s master list of the 100, 1000, 1 million books I need to read before I die. But for now, for this challenge, here’s my list:

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemmingway
The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

This challenge runs from September 1 – December 31, 2009.

QUESTION OF THE DAY

What classic or high school reading list book would you like to read again, or finally read?

4 Responses

  1. You have a great list! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Jane Eyre. I could go on and on about that book…actually, I did on by blog when I read it.
    I was just thinking about Anna Karenina last week and that I should read it – how did I forget to put it on my list? Maybe I’ll do some extra credit and read that too 🙂
    Happy Back to School reading!

  2. I once had the desire to read Jane Eyre. But, then I watched the movie and it totally killed that for me. I knew the Bronte Sisters were dark… but whoa… it was just too much for me.

  3. I do want to read Jane Eyre–never have–and then I will read Syrie James’ The Lost Diaries of Charlotte Bronte. Not a fan of Hemingway. I am trying to leave time for The Count of Monte Cristo (1100+ pages) for my chunkster challenge. Too many books . . . sigh.

  4. Have fun with the challenge!

Leave a Reply

