What Are You Reading Monday, 7 September 2009

on_mondaysThanks to J Kaye’s Book Blog for hosting this weekly meme.

So here we are, the unofficial last day of summer. I hope you all had a good reading week, and hopefully long weekend. I did!

I am happy to report that I at least finished two books up last week, I hope this keeps up (and increases) through the rest of the year, as my shelves are really piling up. I am trying to set some new personal goals for myself and my reading, this includes some new challenges – I am still trying to come up with my four books for the Five Borough Book Review Back to School Challenge. I am hopeful that I will have it finished up today. I also have been lucky enough to receive many ARCs and books from the publishers over the past few weeks, and I want to read and write those up as well.

Another thing I want to focus on over the rest of the year is keeping up with my online book catalog sites like LibraryThing and Good Reads. I also have not put my reviews up on Amazon, but in reading Twitter tweets about the Vine program, I am thinking that maybe I should be doing that too to try and get in the program. How about you? Do you use online book catalog sites? If so, which ones and why?

And finally, be sure to check back in this week for my very first giveaway contest, it will be associated with my review of The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory. I was lucky enough to win a copy, and already had one since I couldn’t wait to read it – so I will be giving away a lovely, unread hard copy version.

OK, now here’s a look at my last week and my week ahead. Happy Reading All!!

BOOKS I COMPLETED
1. The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory
2. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

BOOKS TO COMPLETE
1. The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood
2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling

BOOK TO BEGIN
1. The Man Who Loved Books Too Much by Allison Hoover Bartlett

QUESTION OF THE DAY:
So how about you? What are you reading this week?

7 Responses

  1. I’m waiting for The Man Who Loved Books Too Much- it should come this week
    I’m debating whether to read The Other Queen or The White Queen. I am in the mood for some historical fiction.
    I have a sample of The Heretic Queen on my kindle, I may read that. I will definitely join the contest to win The Other Queen!

  2. I can’t wait to read The Other Queen. Was it as good as the Boleyn series?

  3. Thanks for the link to the Back To School Challenge! I’m definitely going to sign up!
    Looks like to you had a good reading week. I haven’t read The Other Queen yet, but The White Queen is on my to-read list (because I can just borrow it from my mom).
    It’s Monday!

  4. I liked the other Queen. I am awaiting The White Queen. I have not read that novel by Margaret Atwood, but I do like her work.
    My Monday list is here: http://rundpinne.blogspot.com/2009/09/what-are-you-reading-monday.html

  5. I’m reading Stray Affections for a blog tour. Hosting your first giveaway is exciting – I’ll be looking for it.

  6. Great reading week planned. As far as the other, I use to belong to LT, Shelfari, GoodReads and a couple others. I stopped at the beginning of this year. It got to be too much. I was posting more than I was reading. Now, I just post my reviews on Amazon, but also have blog feeds to FB, Twitter, and the ning groups.

  7. Great list of books, enjoy. I finished Cleopatra’s Daughter today and loved it.

Leave a Reply

