Month in Review – July 09

So the TV is telling me that we’re coming up on the most wonderful time of the year. No not the holidays – but back to school, and whether or not I am in school, the approach and start of August always seems to get me in this frenzy of thinking about all the things I wanted to do over the summer, but haven’t. I start going over my list wondering why I haven’t done this, that or the other thing. I am at that point again, but even more then getting out and doing things (like finally getting over to walk on the new High Line) I am wondering how I could not have read more books than I have. I mean seriously, I had a round-trip flight to Copenhagen, how could I not have at least polished off a book then?!?

But instead of continuing to beat myself up, I’m going to try and get past that and instead celebrate what I have accomplished this July, at least in my little world of this blog.

Books I finished in July:
Shanghai Girls by Lisa See
The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff (ironically, was the 19th book I read this year)
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Reviews I completed in July:
Shanghai Girls
The 19th Wife

Challenges I’m in:
Everything Austen (Completed One of Six books – read Pride and Prejudice)
Sookie Stackhouse Reading Challenge (Didn’t read any yet, but have the first two books on my shelf if that counts for anything)
Harry Potter Reading Challenge (Starts Aug 1, have the first six on their way to me)
August Reading Challenge (As name implies, it starts in August – just tracking what I am reading, no specific genre, etc.)

All in all it’s not too bad for being out of the country and not doing any posting for about two weeks. I (hopefully) see some more reading time ahead in August, which is good because I already have some ARCs staring at me from the shelf begging to be read and reviewed, in addition to my ever growing TBR pile. But all else is suspended until I finish The Girl Who Played with Fire, which will hopefully be done this weekend, or very early next week.

QUESTION(S) OF THE DAY:
How was your July reading-wise? Have you done most of what you wanted to do this summer already? What’s your next up for August?

2 Responses

  1. You did great reading in July! I would love to read Shangai Girls; I borrowed it from my library but had to return it before I could read the first page… I hate when that happens!

    The “coming back to school” time of the year has that affect on me, too. When I was working, it felt a little less like that but now that I’m back to university, I really see the summer come and go.

  2. I see you had a great July! I have read The TIme Traveler’s Wife too – what did you think of it? I quite liked it although the time traveling aspect I found to be frustrating because of the paradox, but I thought it was well written and I liked the story over all.

    My month in review is HERE if you fancy popping by.

    I’m into challenges too and have joined far too many…

    Bye for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

