What Are You Reading Monday, 27 July; and Recap of Last Week

on_mondaysAnother Monday is upon us, hope you all enjoyed your weekends as much as I did.

So with the start of a new week I find another chance to set some reading, and blogging, goals that will hopefully not be subverted by frolicking in the summer-time weather. Well, OK maybe there should be a little frolicking.

I am happy to report that I did finish up the books I listed to read last week (of course I didn’t finish Pride and Prejudice until this morning, but still). I’m happy to be done with those, both of which I enjoyed for very different reasons, so that I can have a clear plate to throw myself into The Girl Who Played with Fire. It’s long and I assume I won’t be able to put it down, but going to try so that I can at least try and keep up the two books a week track record I have had of late.

Last week I was also busy putting my name and blog address on no less than three Mr. Linky’s! I am signed up to participate in: the Sookie Stackhouse Reading Challenge, the Harry Potter Reading Challenge and the August Reading Challenge – this in addition to the Everything Austen Challenge that I am in as well. I have the first two Sookie books here that I will crack open come the beginning of August, and have the first six Harry books on their way to me. Also on its way to me, the Pride and Prejudice miniseries with Colin Firth that I rented since I have never seen this version. I am not adding it specifically to my list for Everything Austen, it’s more of a supplement, but think I will wait until I watch and do post of the book and movie.

As for blog goals, I have a few reviews I would like to complete, and also like to add a specific 2009 Challenges page. Of course this is in addition to keeping up with my Google Reader, which I finally totally cleaned out last week. It took longer than I thought to clean because I am enjoying reading all the blogs I subscribe too, but also because I have found so many new ones to add when you all share awards and kudos, so thank you all for introducing me to more great blogs and people to follow on Twitter. I also hope you like what you find here and will subscribe and say hello to me on Twitter as well. Links for both are on the right.

So, happy reading to you all, and hope you have a great week ahead!

Books I completed the week of July 20:
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan

Books to read the week of July 27:
The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson
Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler
(OK, I know I was planning on reading Pride and Prejudice and Zombies after finishing P&P, but to appreciate both, I think I need a book in between.)

QUESTION(S) OF THE DAY:

  1. What books did you finish last week? What is on your TBR pile for this week?
  2. Are you participating in any challenges? If so, which ones and how are they going?
8 Responses

  1. Good luck with your challenges!

  2. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies was an awesome book. Here is mine mine

  3. Good luck with your challenges. I am also signed up for the Sookie Challenge, but haven’t read any yet – meaning that I did read number 1 some years ago, but haven’t gotten started on number 2 yet 🙂

  4. I got a lot of reading done last week because we were at the beach. I’m doing the Sookie challenge, too and I’m waiting for the first book to arrive so I can start the series.

  5. I signed up for the Sookie Stackhouse Reading Challenge and the August Reading Challenge too!

  6. I just signed up for J. Kaye’s Stephanie Plum challenge. So that’s fun.
    Challenges I’ve completed this year:
    Southern Reading Challenge
    Goodreads 75 books challenge
    Read your own books challenge
    eBook reading challenge
    Romance reading challenge

    I’m reading the final book for the Support your local library challenge.
    Right now I don’t plan to join any more this year. Have a great week!

  7. I’m trying so hard not to join any more challenges …
    Happy reading! 🙂

  8. You’ve selected some GREAT reads. Hopefully you love the HP series as much as I did. I am going to read the Sookie Stackhouse series VERY soon!

Leave a Reply

