The Well-Traveled Shelf

I love to travel and have been lucky enough to have visited some amazing places around the globe. Whether traveling for work or as a tourist, of course I need to bring back souvenirs. My home is filled with artwork, pillows, wood carvings, figures … sorry the list goes on and on and while I will not bore you with an entire inventory of my belongings I will share one more thing I have gotten during my travels, books.

Obviously I am a lover of books, so I’m not sure where I was when it first hit me that an equally memorable souvenir would be a book. I don’t get a book in every location I go to, but all the ones I do bring back have a story or significance attached (even if it is just, I don’t know I was in X City, saw this book and decided to get it). 

On my most recent trip I bought a book in Copenhagen and in Stockholm. Copenhagen was in the totally random category.

But in Stockholm, while on a tour outside the City proper, the guide offhandedly mentioned that she also led tours of locations from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, pointing out a location or two as we passed. OMG! How could I have forgotten that Stieg Larsson was from Sweden and much of the book’s action took place in Stockholm?! Once the kind tour guide shook my memory, it became my mission to see if I could find an English-language edition of The Girl Who Played with Fire. I was not any place where there was a bookstore for hours. But with my final free hour I made a dash, not even asking where I might find a bookstore, hit a touristy-looking street filled with a variety of stores and much to my happiness I spotted a book and card store. I ran in and found one shelf of English-language books and one lone copy of The Girl Who Played with Fire. Obviously it was meant to be. Not that you need to travel to Stockholm to get a copy, it hits the US shelves this Tuesday (July 28th).

I could go on and on, telling the tales of some of the books that line my shelves. And that’s what makes my traveling even more fun. These books might not be the most obvious tokens of my travels, but to me – that makes them all the more special.

QUESTION OF THE DAY: Do you have a special “traveling book” story?

2 Responses

  1. I took a book tour for Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil – does that count?

  2. Hello,
    Just wanted to say thanks for popping by my blog yesterday and leaving a comment. It’s always nice to hear from other book bloggers. I’m glad you liked my post on Maw Blogs. I’m going over to goodreads now, to ‘meet’ you there too 🙂

Leave a Reply

