Reading Challenge: The Harry Potter Reading Challenge

HPRCFor what seems like years now, friends of mine ranging from avid readers to people that I never even really talked about books with have asked if I have read Harry Potter. It certainly happened more than once, and in fact often enough that I began to sheepishly answer that in fact I had not read any of the books in the series, I have never even seen one of the movies.

I’m not really sure exactly I haven’t read any. Originally it was because I really thought it was for kids.  But that was short-lived as I was soon encouraged by friends with kids that they loved it too, and so would I. Then the next thing I knew it seemed that readers of all ages were just wild about Harry. (As an aside, I have a Harry Potter fan moment, a few years back I was in London right before one of the books was about to be released and could not get over the line of costumed fans who were sitting out days before it even went on sale. Unfortunately I left the day before it went on sale or I probably would have bought a copy of whichever book it was and not be in this situation now of being one of the last left standing.)

So, I was quite happy to see that Galleysmith is hosting a Harry Potter Reading Challenge. I just signed up today for the August Reading Challenge hosted by Pizza’s Book Discussion, so talk about cross-over (but luckily the challenge gives a year to finish all the HP books), and now I can finally get in on the Harry Potter conversation. Maybe I will even rent the movies as I finish each book. But I will continue to update the blog as I finish up the books.

Want to join in on the fun, check out Galleysmith’s Harry Potter Reading Challenge post and sign-up! You can also follow the conversation on Twitter at #hprc.

2 Responses

  1. Welcome to the challenge!

    Like you, I’ve not read any of the books. I have seen bits and pieces of some of the movies but I’d never really caught the wave of Harry Potter-dom. I’ve really gotten into the YA genre lately and since I’d always figured these books to be skewed for a younger audience than myself (even though many adults I know LOVE them) and never got to them, I thought I’d see if anyone wanted to join me in jumping on the train. I’ve been pleasantly surprised to see that I’m not the only one who hasn’t read any of them.

    I hope you enjoy the challenge 🙂

  2. I’m a little jealous of challengers who haven’t read the series yet! I’m using it as an opportunity to re-read them (since I read them too fast the first time). Hope you LOVE them!

Leave a Reply

