A New Challenge: The August Reading Challenge

August Reading ChallengeWith July swiftly winding down, I can’t help but wonder what happened to summer and all the wonderful plans I had for reading so many books (case in point: bringing five books on vacation, buying two more while away, and only reading two)?

So, while I was finally catching up on my Google Reader (which is still out of control, but is at least under 550 posts) I saw J Kaye’s Book Blog post on a new reading challenge for August hosted by Pizza’s Book Discussion. Intrigued, I took a look and see that this challenge is a contest to see who can read the most in August. So, here I am – making this a new challenge for myself.

While I don’t think that I will read more than my other esteemed bloggers who are participating, this is a good opportunity to challenge myself to up my reading time especially this last month of summer. I have tried to limit TV watching already (and really what do I need to be watching, we’re mostly in reruns), so this challenge should be the final push I need to really focus more on reading.

I am also in another challenge right now, Everything Austen, and have just started my first book Pride and Prejudice — I figured it was the best place to start. I also think I will join in the Sookie Stackhouse Challenge, I just want to pick up one of the books first before I make it official.

If you are looking to challenge yourself too, here are the links to the August Reading Challenge and Sookie Stackhouse Challenge (sign-up for Everything Austen is now closed). Looking forward to sharing this with you all.

August Reading Challenge hosted by Pizza’s Book Discussion
Sookie Stackhouse Challenge hosted by Beth Fish Reads

ONGOING UPDATE: Books I Have Completed for the Challenge
1. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris (8.6.09)
2. Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler (8.9.09)
3. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling (8.11.09)
4. Baking Cakes in Kigali by Gaile Parkin (8.21.09)
5. Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris (8.27.09)

One Response

  1. Hmmm, I have a LOT to read and I keep signing up for specifics (Sookie, Jane, southern lit) which detract from my actual TBR pile so I think a more general reading challenge like this will be good for me. Thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

