What Are you Reading Monday: Week of 20 July

on_mondaysHappy Monday! It’s been a few weeks since I have put up a “What are you reading Monday” post which is hosted by J Kaye’s Book Blog . But I am ready to put aside vacation mindset, and jet lag, to evaluate my reading week, past and present.

Over the past few weeks I seem to be in a two book a week holding pattern. In a perfect world I would kick this up further to at least three – but don’t know that this will happen this week as I need to dedicate some reading time to cleaning out my Google Reader (I took a vacation from that as well, and now it is totally out of control).

I am happy to report that this week I am finally getting started on the Everything Austen challenge hosted by Stephanie’s Written Word, and (re)reading Pride and Prejudice. I began it this morning at the gym, and while I am not really a re-reader, as noted in my The Do-Over post, I am really enjoying reading this classic that I liked so much the first time around. In fact even though I have read the book and seen one of the movie adaptations, so certainly know the story quite well, it is not diminishing the enjoyment at all. Plus, I can’t wait to finish so I can start on Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

So off we are into another week. Happy reading all!

 

Books I completed the week of July 13:
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

Books to read the week of July 20:
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan

QUESTION OF THE DAY:
What books did you finish last week? What is on your TBR pile for this week?

9 Responses

  1. I have got to read “The Time Traveler’s Wife”!

  2. Everyone seems to love Time Traveler’s Wife – can’t wait to read your review. I’m reading American Lion right now. We head to the beach tomorrow, so I’ll be reading fluffy stuff later this week.

  3. PPZ is absolutely fantastic — I hope you enjoy it!

  4. I haven’t yet read Time Traveler’s Wife but everything I hear about it is positive. I’ll be interested if you liked it as well as everyone else too.

    Last week I was swamped at work so I didn’t have much reading time but I did manage to work through a YA title called Life As We Know It by Pfeffer. I hope to write a review for it in the coming weeks.

  5. I love Pride and Prejudice, and i hope you enjoy it too! Here’s my list 🙂
    happy reading 🙂

  6. Thanks for your comment on my “Buzz”. I don’t suppose Bailey is your last name–or was it just a place you liked to go–because it is my maiden name. Did you leave a review of Olive Kitteridge–didn’t look. ~~ Kim

  7. I love P&P. Have a great week!

  8. Hidden Jewel by VC Andrews

    Club Dead by Charlaine Harris

    Living Dead In Dallas by Charlaine Harris

    Wasn’t able to finish Webmage by Kelly McCullough because I just couldn’t get into it.

    I’m still making my way through the Sookie Stackhouse books since I reread a series before getting to the newest one. I’m also reading Postmortem by Patricia Cornwell.

  9. I’m in two minds about whether to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, but I really enjoyed The Time Traveller’s Wife.
    Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

