Mid-Year Check Up

July 1 – I like milestones. They offer a good opportunity to not only see where you have been and what you have accomplished, but it also affords you the chance to reset intentions (yes, I went to yoga this week, and am apparently still carrying some of those Zen thoughts with me).

So where am I in my book universe as I am half-way through this year?

Books Read

While this blog has only been around for a short time, my reading intentions have not.

My list is really light this year so far, and I am really behind on my goals of how many books I would like to read this year (this time last year I had already read at least 20 books). I am not really sure what happened, but I am rededicating myself to reading. I have already seen this improve as I have begun to write this blog. However, I have a long way to go to meet either of the two goals I set for myself this year in my reading. (But thank you to all on LibraryThing 75 book challenge for your encouragement, I might not hit the goal, but at least it is driving me to read more because who isn’t inspired by a personal challenge.)

So far this year I checked off:
1. I’m Gone by Jean Echenez
2. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
3. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver
4. The Mayor of Castro Street by Randy Shilts
5. Rhett Butler’s People by Donald McCaig
6. Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah
7. Just After Sunset by Stephen King
8. Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell
9. Change of Heart by Jodi Piccoult
10. The Cellist of Sarajevo by Steven Galloway
11. The Reader by Bernhard Schlink
12. Forbidden Bread by Erica Johnson Debeljak
13. Natasha’s Dance by Orlando Figes
14. Burnt Shadows by Kamila Shamsie
15. The Host by Stephanie Meyer
16. The Madonnas of Leningrad by Debra Dean
17. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

I also have some goals of specific books to read. One, as I noted in The Do-Over, is to read The Hobbit, which I am aiming to do in August. I have a few others, but I think I will turn that into a post-summer challenge to share with you all, so stay tuned.

Blogging Challenges

Bloggiesta
After just days of setting up my blog, Natasha over at Maw Books Blog arranged for a Bloggiesta which I happily participated in and made some good progress on setting up/organizing this blog. While that was great, what was even better is that I was introduced to many great people and blogs in the process. So that one was definitely a personal success, even if I didn’t meet all my goals.

Everything Austen
Starting today, Stephanie at The Written Word is hosting a mixed-media challenge that is, as the name implies, on Everything Austen. In an effort to chip away at the dream goal of reading at least 75 books this year, I am sticking to all books. I have a few more things on my TBR pile to get to before I start this challenge (luckily I have six months). I initially drafted my list last week, but in reading some other lists of book options, I might have to swap out a few. But for now, my list is:
1. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
2. Pride & Prejudice & Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith
3. Emma by Jane Austen
4. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
5. Mr. Darcy’s Diary by Amanda Grange
6. The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler

What do I see for the next six months? Well, I definitely see more reading, no excuses – I really need to get to at least 50 books finished, but really striving for 75. In addition to reading books, I also need to keep that Google Reader to a manageable level. I also have more thoughts and plans for this little fledgling blog.

So all-in-all I think this is good mid-year progress, with lots more work ahead, which is good because I like a challenge.

One Response

  1. You’ve made wonderful progress already this year. Oh, and you have a wonderful memory, LOL. I….on the other hand….couldn’t possibly remember everything (even if it hasn’t been as much as you) I’ve done in the past six month. haha.

    Good luck on your continued progress. I have no doubt you’ll make that 75!

Leave a Reply

