What Are You Reading Monday: Week of June 29

on_mondays

At the start of this new week it’s a good time to look over how I did reading-wise, and what I have staring at me from the shelves to read this week. Thanks to J. Kaye’s Book Blog for “What are you reading on Mondays” to help me get started on this task of evaluating how my reading week went, and will go.

If you follow my blog or follow me on Twitter (which I hope you do), for what seems like weeks I have been saying I need to finish Crime and Punishment, stating last week in no uncertain terms that I must finish it by last week’s end. Even in my “What I’m Reading” box here on this blog I stated I would not be allowed to read another book until I finished Crime and Punishment. Well, it came down to the wire, but I am happy to report that early last evening I did in fact finish it. I am not sure how I missed reading a piece of Russian literature in my honors and AP high school classes, and even in courses for my English minor – but at least I finally have. I also really enjoyed it, I was worried about how daunting it would be, but the story flowed for me and sometimes I was in a real groove with it and didn’t want to put the book down. It was dense, and certainly at times I had a few troubles keeping the names straight, but I see more Russian Lit in my future.

This week I will start working my way through a big batch of new books that just came in last week that I have been antsy to start.

Books I completed the week of June 22:
The Madonnas of Leningrad by Debra Dean
Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

Books to read the week of June 29:
Shanghai Girls by Lisa See
Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

QUESTION OF THE DAY:
What books did you finish last week? What is on your TBR pile for this week?

Happy Reading!

8 Responses

  1. All great choices and books I want to read! Have a great week.

  2. I have Crime And Punishment lined up for next week. Oliver Kitteridge too is on my TBR.. Have a great time reading

  3. Exciting! I have Brothers Karamazov sitting, half read, on my shelf. I try not to make eye contact because it makes me feel guilty.
    I have E.L. Doctorow’s The March set up for early this week and then maybe Irving’s Until I Find You.

    I’ll be interested to see what you think of Olive Kitteridge. I recommend it all the time but I’m not sure it’s one of my favorite, really.

  4. Congratulations on finishing! I noticed “The 19th Wife” in your sidebar. I really want to read that one too.

  5. I’ve never read Crime and Punishment, but I’ve always thought it sounded interesting 🙂 Happy reading ♥

    My monday reading is here

  6. Congrats on finishing Crime and Punishment I have not read that one yet but I have it on my TBR pile

  7. I liked Shanghai Girls (was lucky enough to get an arc). I read Olive Kitteridge last year.

  8. Congrats on finishing Crime and Punishment
    Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

