Everything Austen Challenge – My List

Everything Austen

As if my TBR pile wasn’t big enough, I am starting the second half of 2009 off with a book challenge (I think this will be one of many, I’m sure). Stephanie over at The Written Word is hosting an “Everything Austen” mixed-media challenge. Over the next six months, myself along with all who sign up, are challenged to read, listen to and/or watch six Jane Austen-related things.

For me, I think I might just go the reading route so I can check off more in my vastly lacking 75 Books in 2009 challenge. But I will look to read three Austen books (one of which will be a re-read) and then three “inspired by” books. Here’s my list as I envision it right now (but willing to take recommended substitutions):

  1. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
  2. Pride & Prejudice & Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith
  3. Emma by Jane Austen
  4. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
  5. Mr. Darcy’s Diary by Amanda Grange
  6. The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler

I am all set to begin with both P&P and P&P&Z sitting on my shelf, but I am still undecided on which to lead with. Some of my kind friends on Twitter suggest the original, and I tend to agree. But, it’s a reread while a brand new book, with “zombie mayhem,” is grumbling (or whatever zombies do) loudly.

I have one week to decide. Feel free to share your suggestions below in the comments and/or on Twitter. And if you’re on Twitter, you can follow along with our Austen challenge at #everythingausten. And if you are swept up in the Austen (or zombie) frenzy – there is still time to join the challenge too!

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for joining in! It’s so nice to have you!!

  2. YAY, you’ve got a great list to work on for the challenge. I’ve put Pride and Prejudice and Zombies on my list as well. I’ve been kind of on the fence about it but this challenge pushed me over and I’m going to give it a try. It seems most have liked it.

    Good luck!

  3. Great selections! 🙂 I can’t wait to get started. Like you, I’m eager to check off more in my “100+ Reading Challenge” in 2009… I’m at book No. 41 and the year is half over! Thankfully, we can combine challenges and hopefully surge ahead 🙂

    If you decide you do want an alternate for the challenge, may I suggest The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen by Syrie James? It’s based on Austen’s life as found in, of course, these fictional, unearthed diaries reveal plenty about her life and love as a young woman. Really great read!

    Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

