Monday Reading Room

A start of a new week finds me starting new books, or revising my goals so I can finish up lingering books. I had previously been a “one book until I am through” reader, but find I am enjoying having a few books in play (and it keeps my wide collection of book marks busy). 

This Monday I am still working on two books, the ever lingering Crime and Punishment, and the lingering is no fault of Dostoevsky because I am really enjoying the book and don’t find it sluggish – I have just found myself distracted with other books. I have about 200 pages to go on The Host by Stephanie Meyer, which I picked up last week as a diversion from just finishing a wonderful, but dense, cultural history of Russia Natasha’s Dance by Orlando Figes. Also for my Russian kick, I just picked up The Madonnas of Leningrad by Debra Dean which I will start this week as well.

My goal: finish up both The Host and The Madonnas of Leningrad before next week, and no more excuses on Crime and Punishment – I need to make a better dent this week, and finish that up by next week.

QUESTION OF THE DAY:

What’s on your reading list for the week of June 15th? (Post your answers in the comments and on Twitter, if you Tweet.)

6 Responses

  1. Madonnas of Leningrad is fantastic. Hope you enjoy it. I currently have an appalling list of books that I have bookmarks in the midst of including: The Far Pavilions by M.M. Kaye, The Big Rock Candy Mountain by Wallace Stegner, The Lady Flees Her Lord by Michele Ann Young, A Sure As the Sun by Anna McPartlin, Instances of the Number 3 by Salley Vickers, Polly by Freya North, and The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman. The big question is if I’ll actually finish any of them this week since I have Rivka Galchen’s Atmospheric Distrubances sitting here for Picador’s Twitter bookclub in a few days.

  2. I’ve toyed with reading multiple books at one time but find that my attention can’t be spread as thin. I think I tend to get too drawn into a story that I can’t wait to see what unfolds so shifting gears into something else leaves me flustered. Kudos to you for being able to manage.

    I just finished up If I Stay (a YA selection) last night and have to get something going for this week. I’ve read several YA selections in a row so I’m thinking I’ll do something in a different genre. Probably more chick-lit’ish since the last few have been about heavier subjects so lighter fare might be a good turn 🙂

  3. I’m a monogamous book reader; I just finished Nerve Damage, a crime novel by Peter Abrahams and am now in the mood for a meatier novel, for lack of a better term.

    I am thinking of reading The Way The Crow Flies by Ann-Marie MacDonald (I have heard many good things about it). And then maybe something a little lighter, I’m not sure what yet.

  4. PS – I wish you were just starting Crime and Punishment! It would be fun to read one of those mammoth novels along with another book blogger. Are you planning on tackling any other monster novels soon? If so – I’d be game to dive in with you!

  5. I finished The Nine Lessons yesterday and am currently reading Speak. (Speak is outstanding so far!) Next up will be Love Walked In and after that I’ll start April & Oliver.

  6. Erm, hmmm. 3 Henning Mankell books.
    Beautiful Dead Book 1 (Jonas) by Eden Maguire
    2 Yasmine Galehorn books.
    Willow by Julia Hoban
    Surviving a House Full of Whispers by Sharon Wallace (which I’m afraid to read, because it’s based on events that have happened)
    Jane in Bloom by Deborah Lytton

    That’s what I’m hoping to read anyway, but with school… well, thank god for the Bloggiesta and scheduled reviews!

Leave a Reply

